On the Road by Jack Kerouac

“I first met Dean not long after my wife and I split up. I had just gotten over a serious llness that I won’t bother to talk about, except that it had something to do with the miserably weary split-up and my feeling that everything was dead. With the coming of Dean Moriarty began the part of my life you could call my life on the road.”

 

Yesterday I watched the movie “On the Road” based on a book by Jack Kerouac. I strongly recommend the book to everyone who has not read it yet. It brings memories of the past, the trips we have made with friends hichhiking through Europe. I liked the movie, I had the feeling that it shows what the reality of Jack Kerouacs life could have been. The book is a bit different:-) I love the camera work – it reminded my my trips from the time of my life I could call my life on the road. People, places, cities, countries. It gave me for a moment this very melancholic feeling of going on the road again. There is no need for trip now – everything I looked for is here and now.

The first sentence used in the movie came from the orginal scroll – “I first met Dean not long after my father died” – It makes great symetry with the last sentence of the book – “Old Dean Moriarty the father we never found”. I have read why it has been changed – but you have to look for yourself to find out. More about the book here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On_the_Road

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Road by Jack Kerouac

  1. khrodos says:

    hello emilian

    I ‘m really interested in the change in the first line of the book but have yet to find any mention of it in his relations to Malcom Cowley etc. Can you point me to where you have found discussion on this? As an aside, I found the movie incapable of the “spirit” of the book. Its a difficult thing to capture that dimension behind the behavior of decadence, granted. The problem is the tradition of decadence (Baudaulaire, Huysmans) suffers a total default to immorally if the deeper motive is lost. Please respond via email if possible. Dont want to miss your reply! thanks

    • The change in the first line came with the idea of this book beeing written not about father but about relations with women. The book tells the story between the first wife and second and actually there was one more chapter to the book which finished with Sal going to meet his wife. Who is asking the question? I can only see khrodos and have no idea of your true identity?
      Best wishes,
      Emilian

Leave a Reply

